Throwback Thursday – Havisham Neck Corset

by thevelvetletter

This heavily embellished neck corset has been languishing in a box for several years, so I thought it was high time I unpacked it and gave it some love.

If I were to make this again now I would put a lot less ornamentation on as I think it would be better to see more of the shape of the base.

If I were to make this again now I would put a lot less ornamentation on as I think it would be better to see more of the shape of the base.

I made this piece for a photographic project that was never completed, long before I knew anything about corsets. I must dig out the pictures – they came out really well, but I never finished the series they were supposed to be a part of.

Kind of looks like some sort of coral growth.

I think it looks like some sort of coral growth.

I am not sure what to do with this piece. There are elements of it that I really like, but I’m not entirely happy with it – it’s a bit too bulky, I think – and I don’t know if I should hang onto it. Maybe I should cannibalise it for parts? Some of the loveliest elements are the glass spheres, with their crochet nets hand-made by my friend Caite.

Years later, and I am still blown away by how lovely Caite's crocheted nets are. Apparently the nets tighten themselves as they are made, which lead to several shattered globes.

Years later, and I am still blown away by how lovely Caite’s crocheted nets are. Apparently the nets tighten themselves as they are made, which led to several shattered globes.

I used a lot of different materials in this piece – old tea-stained doilies, scraps of fine silk, and and old nylon stocking to list a few. Maybe it would have been better if I had used fewer materials, as well as reducing the bulk by removing some of the bigger baubles?

Close-up shots of some of the details.

Close-up shots of some of the details.

Ah well, I suppose it will have to go back in it’s box until I figure out what to do with it.

