Fresh

by thevelvetletter

A new year and a fresh start, time to implement some more of the interesting things I learnt last year. I don’t make New Year’s resolutions as such, but I do try to re-affirm in my mind the lessons I have learned in the previous year, hoping to avoid old mistakes and take full advantage of new knowledge.

I’ve had  lovely break – I didn’t do a single corsety stitch! I thought I should take the time to work on some other projects in order to have a proper mental, as well as physical, rest.

Here I am in Betty's Bay with one of my oldest friends, Rebecca. Here we are about to fling off our outerwear and splash off into the lake.

Here I am in Betty’s Bay with one of my oldest friends, Rebecca. Here we are about to fling off our outerwear and splash off into the lake.

Yesterday the lovely Sir G helped me put up a much needed shelf, as I have been desperate for more storage space. Towards the end of last year I felt that I was spending more time moving piles of stuff from A to B than I was actually making garments.

So today will be spent sorting out my studio, packing less essential items onto my lovely new shelf (these days I can get ridiculously excited abut hardware!) and working on a bit of a schedule for the next few weeks.

I have a few commissions to be getting on with – some classic waist training corsets and some more elaborate show pieces – and I’m starting to feel antsy about getting to work.

