Much and More

by thevelvetletter

What a bust week it has been! Very efficient and productive, and lots of interesting projects happening.

I’m underway with my FR competition piece (Zee came for a first session on Thursday, and I traced out and refined the pattern this morning) and am getting more and more excited for it! I’ll write a separate post on that so that I can put all my ideas in one place.

Zee about to be released from her tape cocoon. This is my favorite method of patterning. I can visualise much better in 3D and I'm a bit of a hardware nut so I like me some duct tape;)

Zee about to be released from her tape cocoon. This is my favorite method of patterning. I can visualise much better in 3D and I’m a bit of a hardware nut so I like me some duct tape;)

I’ve nearly finished a curvy waist-training underbust corset in black coutil for a client, which I’ll wrap up next week, and I’m making good progress on my current sample, Tempest. At first I was calling this sample Moonshadow because of the silvery silk, shadowy black chiffon draping and starry embellishment, but somehow Moonshadow is to quiet and retiring – this is a corset for a Valkyrie, a corset of blustering winds and dramatic clouds.

Meet Tempest. If you follow me on Instagram you will already have seen a few details of this sample. Lots more to do, but starting to look how I envisioned it...

Meet Tempest. If you follow me on Instagram you will already have seen a few details of this sample. Lots more to do, but starting to look how I envisioned it…

And I had a spot of retail therapy this morning too! I am now the proud owner of an embroidery frame and a set of tambour embroidery hooks and I bought myself a selection of beads to practice with. I need to get going with this as I have an article to write on the subject for FoundationsRevealed.com and I need to make up a sample for a gorgeous 1930s wedding gown (the wedding is in early April, so I do have a bit more time for the gown).

Beads! I haven't dallied in the bead section of the shops for years, so it was like discovering a whole new world of possibilities. I'm really looking forward to incorporating beading into my future work.

Beads! I haven’t dallied in the bead section of the shops for years, so it was like discovering a whole new world of possibilities. I’m really looking forward to incorporating beading into my future work.

Am itching to get going with the tambour beading, but I think I’ll spend a bit more time working on Tempest, maybe get the rest of the flowing chiffon sewn on, then I can start embellishing next week. I also have a whole lot of fittings next week, so I’ll have to run up a few toiles as well… but maybe those can wait till Monday.

So much lovely;)

